Malcolm Turnbull is the new PM

| September 14, 2015
Malcolm Turnbull

Malcolm Turnbull has been sworn in as 29th Prime Minister of Australia. He won in a Liberal Party leadership ballot against former Prime Minister Tony Abbott with 54 against 44 votes on Monday evening. Julie Bishop was confirmed as deputy leader, defeating Kevin Andrews with 70 to his 30 votes.

Mr Turnbull will be Australia’s fourth Prime Minister in two years. In his address to the media after the ballot win he said he would run “a thoroughly Liberal government”.

It is expected that a government led by Mr Turnbull will see a number of changes to ministerial posts, including the Treasury portfolio, where Joe Hockey is likely to be replaced, prossibly by the current Social Services Minister Scott Morrison. Julie Bishop will remain Foreign Minister. Mr Turnbull will announce the new cabinet in full on Monday, 21 September.

The government’s economic narrative will be a focus point of Malcolm Turnbull’s leadership. Last Monday he said that Tony Abbott had “not been capable of providing the economic confidence that business needs”.


The fall of Tony Abbott – by Binoy Kampmark